Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

5:38 p.m. - 2008-09-15
-
Donald R. Anderson
If at First you Don't Succeed, Cry, Cry Again

The spider sneaked up on me under the covers,
and I promptly turned on the light,
and shook the blanket
discarding it on the floor somewhere away,
as far as I could without having
a handy squashing device or glasses
to see well with.
The spider, I was afraid,
would persist to inhabit under the blanket,
as it might have invested a certain
amount of effort and time,
maybe even besides scouting the
territory it might have found
a home for its next generation.
But, I heard not from it again.
I believe it took my advice:
If at first you don't succeed,
cry, cry again.
Not good advice, mind you,
but at least one wouldn't be
as persistent as the fly,
and be hated for it.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!